Symphony Atlantis
2 piccolos, 4 flutes, 2 alto flutes, 2 bass flutes, contrabass flute, and harp
Flute.Net Publications
Product Code
flute choir with harp score and parts

Symphony Atlantis by Melvin Lauf, Jr.

Scored for 2 Piccolos, 4 C Flutes, 2 Alto Flutes, 2 Bass Flutes, Contrabass Flute, 2 Trumpets, 2 Flugelhorns, 2 Trombones, Euphonium, and Harp. (Flute 3 doubles on Soprano Recorder and Flute 4 doubles on Alto Recorder).

A symphony in four movements: I. The Prophecies, II. Concerto of Voices "Archiving at Athens and Babylon", III. The Omega Tsunami, IV. Epilogue: Lost Reminiscent

I. The Prophecies - Vision of Impending Doom - one can hear the warning of the tsunami that will destroy Atlantis due to their greed..even though there are moments of happiness threaded throughout the sections. Recounting the Genesis Prophet (a simpler time) - This prophet wants nothing more than to warn the Atlanteans of greediness. If they exercise charity, kindness, and humility all will be right with Atlantis. The Phoenix Prophet - Again warns the inhabitants of Atlantis of the danger in their future.

II. Concerto of Voices "Archiving at Athens & Babylon" - The scribes want nothing more that to pass down the themes of their thriving civilization, in hopes of one day they are lifted up in voice.

III. The Omega Tsunami - " a single day and night of misfortune, the island of Atlantis disappeared into the depths of the sea."                         
- Plato 360 B.C.                   (The brass instruments are used in this movement only.)

IV. Epilogue: Lost Reminiscent - Resting on the surface of the ocean, one can still feel the presence of Atlantis' fathoms below.

Durations - 26 minutes

Click icon to listen to I. The Prophecies 

Click icon to listen to II. Concerto of Voices 

Click icon to listen to III. The Omega Tsunami 

Click icon to listen to IV. Epilogue: Lost Reminiscent