Bad Girls
piccolo, 3 flutes, alto flute, bass flute
Alry Publications
Product Code
flute choir: piccolo, three flutes, alto flute, bass flute score and parts Doug Borwick (b.1952) 5 movements: 1. Bad Girls 2. Billie 3. Cass 4. Mahalia 5. Janis

Doug Borwick

*BAD* Girls is a composition for flute choir written by Doug Borwick for Winston-Salem's professional flute ensemble, Silver Wind. The work is in five movements, each based upon a familiar style of popular music and (with the exception of the first movement) inspired by a legendary female performer of that music. The first movement, entitled *BAD* Girls,  is loosely derived from rap music (quite a compositional trick to pull off with six flutists). The second movement, Billie, is a bluesy homage to Billie Holiday; the third, Cass, is a light-hearted pip-rock ballad composed with the voice of Cass Elliot in mind. Mahalia, the fourth movement, is a tribute to Mahalia Jackson, based upon the gospel hymn "Nobody Knows the Trouble I've Seen". The piece concludes with a straight-ahead hard rock movement (for six flutes!), entitled Janis, which is infused with the spirit of the legendary Janis Joplin.

10A2100FC156 - sample.jpg10A2100FC156 - sample2.jpg