Cascadian Concerto
flute, oboe, clarinet, french horn, bassoon, piano
Southern Music Company
Product Code
Woodwind Quintet

Score and parts

Cascadian Concerto
for woodwind quintet and piano (orchestra)
by Eric Ewazen (b. 1954)- American composer and teacher

I. Sundrenched
II. Windswept
III. Snowcapped

The Cascadian Concerto was written in 2003 for Woodwind Quintet and Orchestra. This set includes the five solo winds (quintet) with a piano reduction by the composer. Orchestra parts are RENTAL only from the publisher.

This four-movement work is a concerto grosso in which each movement evokes a musical image of the Pacific Northwest. The opening movement, Sundrenched, is a reflection of the sometimes seldom seen sun rising over the Cascade mountain range, opening with an extended horn solo. Windswept, with its mixed meter and quick tempo, showcases the solo quintet. The mountains surrounding Seattle are Snowcapped year round; this movement pays homage to the mysterious majesty of these mountains with gently shifting harmonies. Bringing the concerto to a rousing close, Glistening begins with the solo flute, oboe and clarinet in canon. The movement transforms into playful variations of rhythms and textures with sharp dymanic contrasts.

Cascadian smaple1.jpgCascadian sample2.jpgCascadian sample3.jpg