Concerto Grosso #11
2 solo flutes, solo bass flute, with flute choir (2 flutes, alto flute, bass flute)
David Bailey
Falls House Press
Product Code

Concerto Grosso No. 11
Arcangelo Corelli (1653-1713)
Arranged by David H. Bailey for flute choir
Published by Falls House Press
Includes score and parts

Solo Flute 1
Solo Flute 2
Solo Bass Flute
Tutti Flute 1
Tutti Flute 2
Tutti Alto Flute
Tutti Bass Flute

       The Opus 6 series of Concerti Grossi were the last and perhaps the greatest works Corelli wrote. They fall into two categories, No.1-8 being designed for larger halls, and No. 9-12 being set for smaller, more intimate romms.
       Number 11 was chosen for this transcription because of its more intimate interweaving of the solo parts, and because it provided the Solo Bass Flute with an extremely difficult challenge in the second movement. There is not enough flute choir literature which adequately challenges the bass, and it is hoped that this Concerto Grosso will help fill the void. 
       The original key of F seemed to leave the alto and bass parts too high to take full advantage of their beautiful and rich lower range, so it has been transposed to the key of C. While this makes full use of the lower range of the alto and bass, it also places special demands on the performers to develop that range for volume and clarity. 

10F180FH0042 - sample.jpg10F180FH0042 - sample (2).jpg