Four Sonatas (ed.Mariassy)
flute, piano
Istvan Mariassy
Product Code

Four Sonatas for Flute and basso continuo by Paolo Benedetto Bellinzani (1690-1757)
Edited by Istvan Mariassy
Includes score and parts (Contains basso continuo part)

Paolo Benedetto Bellinzani was born in Mantova in about 1690.  In 1715 he was already maestro di cappella at Udine cathedral and tutor of the Seminarists.  He took holy orders in 1717, the same year he asked his superiors for more leisure to be able to compose. The surviving documents show a person generally acknowledged and duly rewarded both financially and morally wherever he went (with the possible exception of Fano); there seems to be no adequate explanation for his frequent changes of employment. He spent the greatest part of his life in small towns. These facts may explain why his name and works fell into oblivioun so soon after his death, although in his lifetime he was an eminent church musician, a well-known and respected person. 

Apart from their musical quality, Bellinzani's flute sonatas, Opus 3 take a place very imoprtant also in the history of the instrument.  However rich the instrumental literature of the Italian Baroque may be, we know only of two collections from the first half of the 18th century written expressly for flute and basso continuo: the twelve sonatas by Benedetto Marcello from 1712 and Bellinzani's present collection.

In his sonatas he frequently wrote characteristic violin-figures.  None of this is in conflict with the technique of the recorder.  He obviously presumed that in the hands of a good player the instrument was capable of producing nearly as much as the violin.  Only breathing could cause problems.  Therefore, he found it necessary to make the following remark before the sonatas: "To the Gentle Reader. Though I know from experience that the present work may be played as it is written, should anyone lack the amount of breath necessary for playing the long passages that it contains, he may omit the first note of the first or the third of the even bars and the first note of any bars with triplets in case of continuous accompaniment of the basso continuo." 


Sonata in C Major, Op3 #3
Sonata in c minor, Op3 #8
Sonata in f minor, Op3 #11
Sonata in d minor, Op3 #12