King and Court Jester, The
flute quartet (2 c flutes,alto flute, bass flute) and flute ensemble (piccolo, 4 c flutes, 2 alto flutes, bass flute, contrabass flute)
Snowcrest Music
Product Code

The King and Court Jester composed by Kathleen Mayne
Written for flute quartet (2 C flutes, Alto flute, Bass flute) and flute ensemble (Piccolo, 4 C flutes, 2 Alto flutes, Bass flute, Contrabass flute)
Includes score and parts

"The King and Court Jester" is the first movement of the larger work "Royal Concerto" which was comissioned by the West Michigan Flute Association and received its National Flute Association premier at the Chicago convention in 2014.  Ms. Mayne was requested to compose in the concerto grosso style, with a f lute quartet as soloist. 

The first of three movements, "The King and Court Jester" begins with regal fanfare followed quickly by the mischievous musings of the jester.  Loosely following Sonata Allegro form, the middle section is in contrast to the opening statement and is slower and more contemplative, clearly not the jester's part! But during the development section the jester clearly has his say and does so with the quartet's cadenza.  After which the full orchestra returns, and the king concludes with a festive fanfare finale.