Never Enough of Bach
flute, piano
Gergely Ittzes
Akkord Music Publishers
Product Code

Never Enough of Bach -Music composed by J.S. Bach 
Transcriptions for Flute and Piano by Gergely Ittzes
Includes score and parts

This publication seeks to present three Bach sonatas that are not easily performed from the original score. In the Sonata in D major (BWV1028), for example, the clef changes are particularly difficult for the flautist to navigate, especially the C clef, which is more unusual for flautists to read. Additionally, the transcriber altered the melody slightly, mostly to accommodate those flautists without a B footjoint (an ossia mark or brackets indicate these deviations from the original). There was slightly more editing involved in the transcription of the Sonata in c minor (BWV1017), originally written for violin and harpsichord. The transcriber needed to shape the melodic intervals in a manner idiomatic for the flute. The last movement, however, provides the real motivation for this publication. It is here that the important violin sections descend to the lowest register, which, if played an octave higher, would interfere with the keyboard part. The parts of the violin and the right hand harpsichord have been switched in order to maintain their original regsiters. In this way, Bach's structural principle of having the two concertanti voices take turns with the same thematic material has been broken, but the transcriber recovers the balance between them somewhat since the same voice alternations happen in reverse later in the movement.

The solo Sonata in c minor (BWV1001/1003) borrows the third and fourth movements of the Sonata in a minor for solo violin (BWV1003), using them as the second and third movements respectively within the framework of the outer first and fourth movements of the Sonata in g minor for violin (BWV1001). The middle movements have naturally been readjusted in tonality. In a good performance, the sonata can be very impressive on the alto flute. In this way, the outer movements will sound in their original key, the seconf and third movements will be transposed only by a major second, a transposition that occurs frequently in Bach's own transcriptions, as well. The transcriber also encourages, of course, performing the work on C flute, in c minor, thus adding another masterwork to the repertoire of this instrument.

Sonata in D Major (BWV1028)
Sonata in c minor (BWV1017)
Solo Sonata in c minor (BWV1001/1003)  (Flute only - can also be played on alto flute)