Peer Gynt Suite Op46#1
Product Code
Woodwind Quintet

Peer Gynt
Suite No. 1, Op. 46
Composed by Edvard Grieg
Arranged by Joachim Linckelmann
For Woodwind Quintet
Published by Barenreiter
Includes score and parts

Flute, Oboe, Clarinet in A, Horn in E (or F) and Bassoon

1. Morgenstimmung (Morning Mood)
2. Ases Tod (The Death of Ase)
3. Anitras Tanz (Anitra's Dance)
4. In der Halle des Bergkonigs (In the Hall of the Mountain King)

      Edvard Gried wrote his incidental music to Peer Gynt in 1876 at the request of Henrik Ibsen. Originally Peer Gynt was a poem that Ibsen later reworked into a stage play. Grieg's incidental music consists of a total of twenty-two numbers. He later selected four of them to form the Peer Gynt Suite No. 1, which appears here in an arrangement for woodwind quintet.
      The highly imaginative and colorful story of Peer Gynt was based on a Norwegian fairy-tale by Peter Christen Asbornsen. Peer Gynt is a Norwegian braggart, vagabond, and abductor who manages to travel as far as Morocco on his fantastic journeys and his escape (from himself). There, in the desert sands, he is robbed of his last possessions (by Anitra) after having acquired great wealth through the slave trade and other ventures. Only thirty years later does he return home, after suffering a shipwreck and internment in a Cairo madhouse.
      When you hold this volume in your hands, your search for the right arrangement of the First Peer Gynt Suite has come to an end!
- Joachim Linckelmann
(translated by J. Bradford Robinson from German)

33B010008603 - sample.jpg33B010008603 - sample2.jpg