Silent Night
flute, piano
Rebecca Faith
Broadbent & Dunn Ltd
Product Code

Silent Night by Franz Xaver Gruber
Arranged for Flute and Piano by Rebecca Faith 

This arrangement by Rebecca Faith is not what is usually expected when labelled with the familiar title 'Silent Night'. This piece of music is more of a variation of themes, the familiar melodies remaining recognisable but treated as small pockets of atmospheric motifs rather than one long lyrical melody. The style and harmonies have a more experimental magical feel whilst remaining easy on the ear, and are created to capture the attention and imagination of the listener. All of Rebecca's Christmas Carol arrangements are fresh, exciting and uniquely crafted, and are very much for the concert platform rather than a sing-along or play-along at home with Dad playing the piano part. These beautiful arrangements require work on the part of both flautist and pianist, as with a demanding accompaniment they are very much a duo. The majority are for the advanced flautist, minimum grade 6-7 standard, as there are some complicated rhythms, flutter tonguing and technically challenging jazzy-style passages. Highly recommended and well received by audiences there is nothing else available like them, and so these challenging yet thoroughly enjoyable arrangements fill a gap in the market and are an effective and welcome addition to the repertoire, providing some festive music with a rather different flavour, away from the usual standard melody with accompaniment. The collection of 10 Christmas Carols was written for the flute and piano duo 'Tranquillo.'