Product card Recordings  Piccolo
Stokowski First Releases (Historic Recordings 1927-1944)
Product Code
La Monaca; Foster; Handel; Strauss,R; Tchaikovsky; Kelly; Scriabin; Schubert

With The Philadelphia Orchestra, NBC Symphony Orchestra, New York City Symphony Orchestra...

A pot-pourri of previously unreleased recordings from the 78rpm era, containing some old favourites as well as some rarities, and featuring Leopold Stokowski the arranger as much as Leopold Stokowski the conductor.  The recordings on this disc were made in 1927 and 1944. On these transfers from previously unreleased 78rpm records, Cala Records has sought to capture the essence and energy of the artists' performances while lessening the effects of the surface noise inherent in the earlier technology.

La Monaca - Saltarello (Piccolo, Orchestra)
Foster - (arr.Stokowski) Oh, Susannah! (Orchestra)
Handel - (arr.Stokowski) Pastoral Symphony from The Messiah (Orchestra)
Strauss,R - The Dance of the Seven Veils from Salome (Orchestra)
Tchaikovsky - Solitude (Orchestra)
Kelly - Sunset Reflections from Adirondack Suite (Orchestra)
Tchaikovsky - Marche Slave (Orchestra)
Scriabin - (arranged Stokowski) Etude in c#(Orchestra) ;

Schubert - (arranged Stokowski) Tyrolean Dances from Deutsche Tanze, op33 (Orchestra)
Tchaikovsky - Romeo and Juliet Fantasy Overture (Orchestra)