Three Preludes & Fugues
piccolo, c flute, alto flute (score and parts)
Kyril Magg
Leaf Publishing
Product Code

Three 3-Voice Preludes and Fugues from the Well-Tempered Clavier by J.S. Bach.
Transcribed for Piccolo, C Flute (or Eb Flute) and Alto Flute by Kyril Magg
Includes score and parts

Includes transcriptions from Book 1 #8 in e flat minor (BWV 853), Book 2 #20 in a minor (BWV 889) and Book 2 #4 in c# minor (BWV 873).

"Volumes three, four, and five of the Bach Tercentenary Series invite flutists to draw first-hand inspiration from the magnificent music of the Well-Tempered Clavier.  Performing these transcriptions encourages players to have a mutual snese of purpose and style modeled on the unified efforts of the separate fingers of a keyboard artist playing the same music.  These volumes are intended as chamber music rather than as flute choir material: balances will be attained with more flexibility and detail heard with greater clarity if there is only one player per part.

Prelude and Fugue in E-flat minor: is the only prelude in the Well Tempered Clavier that is written in a different key from its companion fugue. To assist in performer concentration in making the transition between pieces, both are published in the same key. The prelude is the only non-contrapuntal piece in this volume. Harmonies are reiterated with a very gentle but constant half-note pulse; the atmosphere which they create combines stately dignity with sad poignancy.  The Fugue is also somber in mood but magnificently complex in construction with inversions, augmentations, rhythmic alterations and many overlapping statements. 

Prelude and Fugue in A minor: The Prelude is written in two part counterpoint. The Fugue has a compact and vigorous feeling. 

Prelude and Fugue in C-sharp minor: The Prelude is organized around a garciously ornamented melody. The Fugue's inevitably compelling sixteenths are written in perpetual-motion style. "