Tunebook based upon seven tunes from The Sacred Harp
flute, oboe, Bb clarinet, horn in F, bassoon
Falls House Press
Product Code
Woodwind Quintet

Tunebook for Woodwind Quintet
Based Upon 7 Tunes from "The Sacred Harp"
Composed by William Averitt
Published by Falls House Press
Includes score and parts

Flute, Oboe, Clarinet in Bb, Horn in F, and Bassoon

1. Saints Bound for Heaven (tune by EJ King and William Walker)
2. Idumea (Tune by A. Davidson)
3. Sweet Prospect (Tune by William Walker
4. Home (Tune by BF White)
5. The Enquirer (Tune by BF White)
6. Expression (Anonymous tune from Zion Songster)
7. Jordan's Shore (Anonymous tune re-arranged by George B. Daniel)

Sacred Harp singing is a tradition of sacred choral music that took root in the Southern region of the United States.  It is part of the larger tradition shape note music.  Shape note singing is a distinctively American form of music making, dating from the early 19th Century.  It features a unique method for reading music and, more interestingly, gave birth to a remarkable repertoire of frequently modal melodies in unconventional settings.  The Sacred Harp tunebook is the most famous of the 19th Century source books, and seven melodies have been taken from the book to be combined with contemporary harmonic practice.

33F1800CWWA1 - sample.jpg33F1800CWWA1 - SAMPLE (2).jpg33F1800CWWA1 - sample (3).jpg