SKU: 01S640000003


Composed by Zoltán Kodály (1882-1967)
for Flute and Piano (originally for Violin and Piano)
Transcribed by Mark Sparks
Published by Mark Sparks Edition
Includes score and flute part

The Adagio of Zoltán Kodály (1882-1967) was originally composed for violin and piano. It achieved broad popularity, and is frequently performed on cello and viola as well. This adaptation for flute and piano is a significant addition to the flutist’s recital repertoire. A very early work (1910), the Adagio displays the dark, serious tone one might associate with the music of Brahms or Mahler, featuring rich harmonies, large-scale sonorities, and contemplative, passionate melody emphasizing the low octave of the flute. Passages of improvisatory freedom lend an air of freshness and spontaneity; traits inherent to the composer’s style which found full voice in his later folk-music based expressions, and here, perfectly suited to the charismatic personality of the flute. This soulful and distinctive piece challenges the flutist to develop tonal and lyrical skills to the fullest, while offering the audience a fully approachable and emotionally engaging experience.

Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Shipping & Delivery

Please note: Express & Overnight Shipping deliveries will require a signature. Please ensure someone is available at the delivery address to provide a signature to avoid any issues.

Domestic Shipping
Standard Ground Shipping $7.95
2nd Day Air Shipping (*US only*) $19.95
Overnight Shipping (*US only*) $44.95
International Shipping Puerto Rico and Guam Canada and Mexico International General
USPS Economy $7.95 $29.95 $29.95
USPS Priority Mail International N/A $49.95 $59.95
FEDEX International Economy $29.95 $39.95 $44.95
FEDEX International Priority $39.95 $49.95 $54.95

We can’t offer the expedited delivery services if a bank holiday falls on a Friday or Monday.

For information about Return Policy, please check here.