Arirang Variations

$10.50 $9.45





SKU: 04S110070663


Arirang Variations by Stanley M. Hoffman
Duet for two flutes of the same kind
Includes two scores

“This work, first scored for piano solo, was composed for the 2008 Sejong Music Composition Competition. Although it did not win a prize, having entered the competition left me with a neat little piano piece to show for it, as well as the present transcription which I created for flutist Peter Sheridan in 2015. The set of variations opens with the traditional Korean theme accompanied by arpeggios. This is followed by Variation 1, a sad waltz in the style of a Chopin waltz. Next comes Variation 2, a funeral march in the manner of Chopin’s Funeral March from the Piano Sonata in B-flat Minor, Op. 35. Variation 3 is a Tango written in tribute to one of my favorite composers, Astor Piazzolla. Variation 4 combined the Korean tune with motifs from the slow movement of Beethoven’s Symphony No. 6, The Pastoral. The set of variations closes with a repeat of the opening passage.” -Stanley M. Hoffman

Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Shipping & Delivery

Please note: Express & Overnight Shipping deliveries will require a signature. Please ensure someone is available at the delivery address to provide a signature to avoid any issues.

Domestic Shipping
Standard Ground Shipping $7.95
2nd Day Air Shipping (*US only*) $19.95
Overnight Shipping (*US only*) $44.95
International Shipping Puerto Rico and Guam Canada and Mexico International General
USPS Economy $7.95 $29.95 $29.95
USPS Priority Mail International N/A $49.95 $59.95
FEDEX International Economy $29.95 $39.95 $44.95
FEDEX International Priority $39.95 $49.95 $54.95

We can’t offer the expedited delivery services if a bank holiday falls on a Friday or Monday.

For information about Return Policy, please check here.