Cloud Images

$22.00 $19.80

flute choir
score and parts





SKU: 10L260000003


Composed by Phyllis Avidan Louke, Cloud Images is a programmatic work in five movements for Flute Choir dedicated to Albert Weatherly of Sankyo Flutes, USA.  The inspiration for this piece came from the beauty of the cloud formations observed during a long plane flight.

Movement 1, “Rising Above the Clouds”, features a soaring melody played first by the bass and alto flute over an ostinato played by the flutes.  The piccolo adds a countermelody which contributes to the feeling of being above the clouds. (1:30)

Movement 2, “Billowing Clouds”, features the alto flute in a cadenza with an Irish flavor.  The alto flute is then joined by the bass flute in a duet, and eventually by the other flutes.  A melody in 7/8 time is then alternated with one in 6/8 and is meant to convey the shape and roundness of clouds. (2:50)

Movement 3, “Oh Look!  There’s an Alligator!”, is a whimsical look at the different shapes that can be found in clouds.  A running bass line in the bass flute supports a jaunty melody which seems to be “on the prowl” to find various shapes in the clouds.  Several different animal shapes are “seen”:  a hippo, an elephant, and finally, an alligator.  Vocals can also be utilized in this movement to better communicate these animal shapes to the audience. (2:20)

Movement 4, “With Your Head in the Clouds”, is in a light-hearted “soft shoe” style.  The melodies describe the feeling of skipping through life, not having a care in the world.  For a “Lawrence Welk” ending, one of the players with rests can blow bubbles during the last measure. (1:40)

Movement 5, “Through a Sea of Clouds”, has a dream-like quality imagining what it would be like to travel through a sea of clouds and touch their wispy softness.  The bass flute is prominently featured, and then joined by the alto flute.  The piccolo adds the “frosting” on top.  (2:30)

Scored for piccolo, 3 flutes, alto flute and bass flute. (10:50)

Click icon to listen to Rising Above the Clouds  
Click icon to listen to Billowing Clouds  
Click icon to listen to Oh Look!  There's An Alligator!  
Click icon to listen to With Your Head in the Clouds  
Click icon to listen to Through a Sea of Clouds  


Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Shipping & Delivery

Please note: Express & Overnight Shipping deliveries will require a signature. Please ensure someone is available at the delivery address to provide a signature to avoid any issues.

Standard Ground Shipping $7.95
2nd Day Air Shipping (*USA Only*) $19.95
Overnight Shipping (USA Only*) $44.95
Standard International Shipping $14.95
Express International Shipping $44.95

We can’t offer the expedited delivery services if a bank holiday falls on a Friday or Monday.

For information about Return Policy, please check here.