Home / Shop / Flute Music / Solos / Flute & Piano (01) / Complete Sonatas (v.6) (G) Hamburger Sonata

Complete Sonatas (v.6) (G) Hamburger Sonata

$20.95 $18.85






SKU: 01B110009351


Complete Sonatas, Volume IV composed by CPE Bach
Edited by Ulrich Leisinger for Flute and Basso continuo (or Piano)
Includes 2 copies of the Flute/Basso continuo parts in score form and a piano score.

Sonata in G Major (“Hamburg”) (Wq133/H.564)

According to the Catalogue of CPE Bach’s Estate, the present sonata in G major (Wq133/H.564) was composed in Hamburg in 1786, almost 40 years after Bach’s other works in this genre. The sonata consists of two extended movements, an Allegretto in sonata form and a witty rondo, which are connected by a short transition. The work was composed presumably for the blind flute player Friedrich Dulon (1769-1826) who visited Hamburg several times on his concert tours from 1783 on. Bach was very impressed by the young blind artist, which could explain why Bach came back to a genre abandoned by him several decades ago. The present sonata, therefore, may be understood as a virtuoso piece for Dulon that could be performed on any stop along his tours, regardless of his accompanist’s abilities, given the simplicity of the keyboard part.

Shipping & Delivery

Please note: Express & Overnight Shipping deliveries will require a signature. Please ensure someone is available at the delivery address to provide a signature to avoid any issues.

Standard Ground Shipping $7.95
2nd Day Air Shipping (*USA Only*) $19.95
Overnight Shipping (USA Only*) $44.95
Standard International Shipping $14.95
Express International Shipping $44.95

We can’t offer the expedited delivery services if a bank holiday falls on a Friday or Monday.

For information about Return Policy, please check here.