Home / Shop / Flute Music / Flute Concerto

Flute Concerto

$24.95 $22.46





SKU: 01F3800FM944


Flute Concerto for Flute and Piano by David Baker

Duration: 19:26

Mvmt. 1 

Mvmt. 2

Mvmt. 3

From an embryonic germ of an idea that is the opening of the second movement of this work grew what originally was a ‘stand alone’ sonatina (titled; On Reflection). On revisiting this sometime later, intrigued by a wealth of almost incidental and undeveloped material within, I saw an opportunity to expand the piece to the three movements presented here. This expansion, built around a central pier, creates an unexpectedly  strong feeling of déjà vu at various moments throughout the composition…. snippets of familiar sounding melody or ‘known’ harmony giving a unity to work as a whole. This version for flute and piano is not simply a ‘piano reduction’. On the contrary; it was originally conceived as a sonata with equal voices, and then, as a commission, re worked and orchestrated to form a concerto. This slightly unusual evolution has resulted in a concerto that gives both soloist and accompanist the opportunity not only to shine , but to demonstrate that wonderful interaction inherent in chamber music performance. — David Baker

Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Shipping & Delivery

Please note: Express & Overnight Shipping deliveries will require a signature. Please ensure someone is available at the delivery address to provide a signature to avoid any issues.

Domestic Shipping
Standard Ground Shipping $7.95
2nd Day Air Shipping (*US only*) $19.95
Overnight Shipping (*US only*) $44.95
International Shipping Puerto Rico and Guam Canada and Mexico International General
USPS Economy $7.95 $29.95 $29.95
USPS Priority Mail International N/A $49.95 $59.95
FEDEX International Economy $29.95 $39.95 $44.95
FEDEX International Priority $39.95 $49.95 $54.95

We can’t offer the expedited delivery services if a bank holiday falls on a Friday or Monday.

For information about Return Policy, please check here.