Four Epigraphes Antiques







SKU: 10A2100FC426


Four Epigraphes Antiques
Composed by Claude Debussy
Arranged for Flute Quintet by Gudrun Hinze
Published by Alry Publications
Includes score and parts

Flute 1
Flute 2 (and Piccolo)
Flute 3
Alto Flute
Bass Flute

I. Pour Invoquer Pan, Dier du vent d'ete
II. Pour un tombeau sans nom
III. Pour que la nuit soit propice
IV. Pour remercier la pluie au matin

Arranger's Notes by Gudrun Hinze:
      The “Chansons de Bilitis” by Claude Debussy are a precious composition for 2 flutes, 2 harps, celesta and voice, reciting old Greek poetry of the courtesan Bilitis. Debussy later adapted 6 movements out of this composition for piano, known as the “Six Epigraphes Antiques” – he uses antique harmonies without major or minor character, often only 5-tone motives.
      The atmosphere of these pieces is silent and tender, with an oriental touch. The delicate and sensual mood of this music inspired me to transcribe four of these “poems” for flute ensemble.

Part of the Quintessenz Collection.

Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Shipping & Delivery

Please note: Express & Overnight Shipping deliveries will require a signature. Please ensure someone is available at the delivery address to provide a signature to avoid any issues.

Domestic Shipping
Standard Ground Shipping $7.95
2nd Day Air Shipping (*US only*) $19.95
Overnight Shipping (*US only*) $44.95
International Shipping Puerto Rico and Guam Canada and Mexico International General
USPS Economy $7.95 $29.95 $29.95
USPS Priority Mail International N/A $49.95 $59.95
FEDEX International Economy $29.95 $39.95 $44.95
FEDEX International Priority $39.95 $49.95 $54.95

We can’t offer the expedited delivery services if a bank holiday falls on a Friday or Monday.

For information about Return Policy, please check here.