Home / Shop / Flute (with one or more winds) / Woodwind Quintets (33) / Island Prelude (featuring oboe solo)

Island Prelude (featuring oboe solo)

$25.00 $22.50

Woodwind Quintet





SKU: 33A030008042


Island Prelude
Composed by Joan Tower (1988)
For Oboe and Wind Quartet
Published by Associated Music Publishers
Duration: ca. 10 minutes
Includes score and parts

Oboe (soloist), Flute, Clarinet in Bb, Horn in F, and Bassoon

      Island Prelude was commissioned by three wind ensembles – Quintessence, the Dorian Quintet, and the Dakota Quintet – as part of a National Endowment for the Arts Consortium Commissioning Grant to have three groups premeire three works by three composers. Nancy Clauter and Quintssence gave the first performance in the Kerr Cultural Center of Arizona State University on April 9, 1989. The Prelude is one of the rare wind quintets where one instrument is a soloist throughout, supported by the rest of the ensemble. Here, the oboe takes the lead. The complicated rhythmic nuances give the piece the improvisatory feel of a prelude. The varied colors of the wind instruments join and separate from the oboe throughout the work, providing an ever-changing background for its arabesques. 
— Ed Matthew

Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Shipping & Delivery

Please note: Express & Overnight Shipping deliveries will require a signature. Please ensure someone is available at the delivery address to provide a signature to avoid any issues.

Standard Ground Shipping $7.95
2nd Day Air Shipping (*USA Only*) $19.95
Overnight Shipping (USA Only*) $44.95
Standard International Shipping $14.95
Express International Shipping $44.95

We can’t offer the expedited delivery services if a bank holiday falls on a Friday or Monday.

For information about Return Policy, please check here.