Pan Penseroso






SKU: 05F0200W2651


Pan Penseroso composed by Martin Bresnick (1946)
Written for two Flutes and Piano 
Includes score and parts

“Pan Penseroso and the titles of its three movements are taken from John Milton's great poem Il Penseroso (The Contemplative Man).  The movements are The Noise of Folly, Prophetic Strain and More Is Meant (Than Meets The Ear).  The music aligns itself with this response to the poet's earlier L'Allegro (the Cheerful Man).  In this concerto, the flutist Pan, like the mature Milton, casts a reflective musical eye on the world, renouncing all “vain deluding joyes,” so as to better hear the “Sweet Bird that shunn'st the noise of folly…”  The piece was comissioned by the National Flute Association, and dedicated to master flutist Robert Dick.  It also includes a number of procedures explored in his book The Other Flute: A Performance Manual of Contemporary Techniques.  Originally written for two flutes and orchestra, the orchestral parts are available as rental only from the publisher.” – Martin Bresnick (Preface)

Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Shipping & Delivery

Please note: Express & Overnight Shipping deliveries will require a signature. Please ensure someone is available at the delivery address to provide a signature to avoid any issues.

Domestic Shipping
Standard Ground Shipping $7.95
2nd Day Air Shipping (*US only*) $19.95
Overnight Shipping (*US only*) $44.95
International Shipping Puerto Rico and Guam Canada and Mexico International General
USPS Economy $7.95 $29.95 $29.95
USPS Priority Mail International N/A $49.95 $59.95
FEDEX International Economy $29.95 $39.95 $44.95
FEDEX International Priority $39.95 $49.95 $54.95

We can’t offer the expedited delivery services if a bank holiday falls on a Friday or Monday.

For information about Return Policy, please check here.