Home / Shop / Flute Music / Partita in a (BWV1013) (ed.Sadilek)

Partita in a (BWV1013) (ed.Sadilek)







In Stock

SKU: 03F180FH0201


Partita in a – Sonata in a, BWV1013 by JS Bach

With Emphasis on the Allemande (Historical Clues and New Discoveries for Performance) by Betty Bang Mather and Elizabeth A. Sadilek

Publisher: Falls House Press
Instrumentation: Flute

I.   Allemande

II.  Corrente

III. Sarabande

IV. Bouree Anglaise

This investigative edition sheds new light on the perplexing features of Bach’s great work. For example, the continuous sixteenth notes in the Allemande—where to breathe?—embrace both the typical features of allemandes and some highly irregular ones. The authors propose that the atypical, psalm-like structure, delivered with the speech-like enunciation used by Baroque flutists, allows the kind of breathing appropriate to a recitation. The unusually intense melody turns out to fit the structure and images of two particular psalms. The remaining movements—Corrente, Sarabande, and Bourrée Anglaise—likewise prove both typical and atypical of their dance types, and make a strong contrast with the Allemande while intimately identifying with it. The edition includes a manuscript facsimile and modern transcription of the Partita, as well as a complete structural analysis, a structural enunciation, a rhetorical analogy, and a method of emphatic delivery for the Allemande. 25 pages of music. 43 pages of text and musical examples.

Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Shipping & Delivery
Domestic Shipping
Standard Ground Shipping $7.95
2nd Day Air Shipping (*US only*) $19.95
Overnight Shipping (*US only*) $44.95
International Shipping Puerto Rico and Guam Canada and Mexico International General
USPS Economy $7.95 $29.95 $29.95
USPS Priority Mail International N/A $49.95 $59.95
FEDEX International Economy $29.95 $39.95 $44.95
FEDEX International Priority $39.95 $49.95 $54.95

For information about Return Policy, please click here.