Piccolo Concerto

$24.50 $22.05





SKU: 38C030061259


Concerto for Piccolo and Orchestra

by Michael J. Easton

for Piccolo and Piano

This work was commissioned by Frederick Shade, principle piccolo for the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra.

The first performance of the concerto took place at Music in the Round with Robert Rosen conducting, and since then it has enjoyed a great deal of popularity.  The work follows conventional concerto form, a dramatic first movement, melancholic middle movement and a romping ronde for a finale.  

The concerto follows the traditional three-movement format.  The first movement (Allegro) is approximately 8th Grade (AMEB) Standard, although this depends on how fast you wish to play the Agitato section!  The opening of the second movement (Canzone-Andante) is a beautiful melody for the soloist, which then moves into an obligato part with challenges for breath control.  This movement is approximately 8th Grade.  The third movement (Rondo-Finale) romps along, and a sense of humour permeates this little gem.  The short cadenza and coda section is an opportunity for the soloist to display rapid tongueing and technical dexterity.

Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Shipping & Delivery

Please note: Express & Overnight Shipping deliveries will require a signature. Please ensure someone is available at the delivery address to provide a signature to avoid any issues.

Domestic Shipping
Standard Ground Shipping $7.95
2nd Day Air Shipping (*US only*) $19.95
Overnight Shipping (*US only*) $44.95
International Shipping Puerto Rico and Guam Canada and Mexico International General
USPS Economy $7.95 $29.95 $29.95
USPS Priority Mail International N/A $49.95 $59.95
FEDEX International Economy $29.95 $39.95 $44.95
FEDEX International Priority $39.95 $49.95 $54.95

We can’t offer the expedited delivery services if a bank holiday falls on a Friday or Monday.

For information about Return Policy, please check here.