Quartet Op83







SKU: 08F3800FM852


Quartet, Op. 83
Composed by Edward Elgar
for Flute Quartet
Arranged by Robert Rainford
Published by Forton Music
Includes score and parts

2 Flutes, Alto Flute, and Bass Flute

This is an arrangement of the only string quartet by Elgar that remains. He completed a quartet much earlier in his life which he labelled opus number 8, but he later destroyed it. He made several other attempts, but none of these were completed. This quartet was written at the request of Carl Fuchs, then the cellist in the Brodsky quartet. Fuchs and Elgar met over dinner after a performance of the Enigma Variations in Manchester in 1910. However it was March 1918 before Elgar started work on the piece, whilst recovering from ill health. Between 1918 and 1919 Elgar completed his last three instrumental masterpieces; this quartet, the violin sonata in E minor, and the piano quintet in A major. Along with his cello concerto (written 1919), these were the last major works the composer completed before his death in 1934.

Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Shipping & Delivery

Please note: Express & Overnight Shipping deliveries will require a signature. Please ensure someone is available at the delivery address to provide a signature to avoid any issues.

Domestic Shipping
Standard Ground Shipping $7.95
2nd Day Air Shipping (*US only*) $19.95
Overnight Shipping (*US only*) $44.95
International Shipping Puerto Rico and Guam Canada and Mexico International General
USPS Economy $7.95 $29.95 $29.95
USPS Priority Mail International N/A $49.95 $59.95
FEDEX International Economy $29.95 $39.95 $44.95
FEDEX International Priority $39.95 $49.95 $54.95

We can’t offer the expedited delivery services if a bank holiday falls on a Friday or Monday.

For information about Return Policy, please check here.