Savor the Flavor

$21.00 $18.90





SKU: 10A2100FC271


Savor the Flavor
Composed by Michael Coolen (b.1946)
for Flute Choir
Published by Alry Publications
Includes score and parts

Instrumentaion: 4 C flutes, alto flute, bass flute

Performance Notes:
      This piece is based on a combination of Cuban salsa and the traditional rhumba. The first 22 measures use a fairly standard introduction that one would find being played on a piano. At measure 24, the meter changes to 3+3+2, and the music drives forward in a groove of interlocking parts, with moments of simultaneous half-step intervals which add a little “flavor” to the harmony. The feeling at measure 69 is both more relaxed and more “flirtatious.” At measure 93, there are a few measures of Prokofiev-like harmonies to add a little more pepper to the salsa. Prokofiev returns later, as well.
      The piece relies on “getting the groove” and holding it. Players are encouraged to move to the groove as they are playing.
– Michael Coolen

Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Shipping & Delivery

Please note: Express & Overnight Shipping deliveries will require a signature. Please ensure someone is available at the delivery address to provide a signature to avoid any issues.

Domestic Shipping
Standard Ground Shipping $7.95
2nd Day Air Shipping (*US only*) $19.95
Overnight Shipping (*US only*) $44.95
International Shipping Puerto Rico and Guam Canada and Mexico International General
USPS Economy $7.95 $29.95 $29.95
USPS Priority Mail International N/A $49.95 $59.95
FEDEX International Economy $29.95 $39.95 $44.95
FEDEX International Priority $39.95 $49.95 $54.95

We can’t offer the expedited delivery services if a bank holiday falls on a Friday or Monday.

For information about Return Policy, please check here.