SKU: 31M110001070


Composed by Gordon Jacob
Published by Musica Rara
Includes score and parts

Flute (Piccolo), Oboe (Cor Anglais), Bb Clarinet, Horn in F, and Piano

1. Elegaic Prelude
2. Scherzo
3. Cortege
4. Minuet and Trio
5. Rondo with Epilogue

      This work was written in memory of Aubrey Brain, the great horn-player and father of the equally distinguished Dennis Brain. Very shortly after its first performance by the Dennis Brain Ensemble Dennis Brain himself was killed in a motor accident. The work can therefore be regarded as a double tribute to the memory of father and son. 
      The musical notes, A, B, E, B, A, taken from the name Aubrey Brain, are used as a thematic basis for all the movements except the Cortege, which, however, is in B flat minor and is therefore centred round the note B flat (=B in continental nomenclature), thus bringing into prominence the initial B.
– Gordon Jacob, 1962

Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Shipping & Delivery

Please note: Express & Overnight Shipping deliveries will require a signature. Please ensure someone is available at the delivery address to provide a signature to avoid any issues.

Domestic Shipping
Standard Ground Shipping $7.95
2nd Day Air Shipping (*US only*) $19.95
Overnight Shipping (*US only*) $44.95
International Shipping Puerto Rico and Guam Canada and Mexico International General
USPS Economy $7.95 $29.95 $29.95
USPS Priority Mail International N/A $49.95 $59.95
FEDEX International Economy $29.95 $39.95 $44.95
FEDEX International Priority $39.95 $49.95 $54.95

We can’t offer the expedited delivery services if a bank holiday falls on a Friday or Monday.

For information about Return Policy, please check here.