Home / Shop / Flute (with one or more winds) / Woodwind Quintets (33) / Sinfonia Concertante (K297b) (parts)

Sinfonia Concertante (K297b) (parts)

$120.00 $108.00

Double Woodwind Quintet with ContraBass obligato (or ContraBassoon)






SKU: 33T150000804


Sinfonia Concertante K. 297b (1778)
Composed by Wolfgang A. Mozart (1756-1791)
For Double Wind Quintet with ContraBass obligato (or ContraBassoon)
Transcribed by Don Stewart
Published by Trillenium Music Company

Flute 1
Flute 2
Oboe 1
Oboe 2
Bb Clarinet 1
Bb Clarinet 2
Horn in F 1 (or Horn in Eb 1)
Horn in F 2
Bassoon 1
Bassoon 2
ContraBass or ContraBassoon

      I have relied on the Eulenberg edition of the above-mentioned copy, as edited by Friedrich Blume, with just a few obvious mistakes corrected. The 1st Oboe, 1st Clarinet, 1st Horn and 1st Bassoon are given the original solo parts, and more. The Flutes are the orchestral violins; the 2nd Oboe and 2nd Horn always play the respective 1st parts from the orchestra. Necessarily, filling the orchestral compliment has necessitated making adjustments in every part, but the registration of the original has scrupulously been adhered to, although very occasionally the Flutes are taken an octave up, the violin parts were, perhaps, kept in lower range so as not to compete with the solo winds. The Horns are given in F, not the Eb transposition more common in Mozart's time, although I include a requested 1st part in Eb. 
      The resources of the double wind quintet seemed not totally adequate for this piece, and I have added a ContraBass part, much as in this composer's Gran Partita K. 361, and the Serenade of Dvorak. Either a fine Double Bassist or Contrabassoonist (probably not both) could be employed. That part as I have given it might be adjusted depending on the volume levels attained by the 2nd Bassoon and 2nd Horn, and acoustics of the performance space. It could be omitted.
      As always in transcriptions such as this, experienced players may find that other articulations, dynamics and shadings will more effectively convey the music. The Symphonia Concertante has here been made into a new piece. It remains simple and direct music, but graceful and expert as Mozart's music usually is. Wind players will welcome this addition to the double quintet repertoire.
-ds 2008

Score to this can be found here

Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Shipping & Delivery

Please note: Express & Overnight Shipping deliveries will require a signature. Please ensure someone is available at the delivery address to provide a signature to avoid any issues.

Domestic Shipping
Standard Ground Shipping $7.95
2nd Day Air Shipping (*US only*) $19.95
Overnight Shipping (*US only*) $44.95
International Shipping Puerto Rico and Guam Canada and Mexico International General
USPS Economy $7.95 $29.95 $29.95
USPS Priority Mail International N/A $49.95 $59.95
FEDEX International Economy $29.95 $39.95 $44.95
FEDEX International Priority $39.95 $49.95 $54.95

We can’t offer the expedited delivery services if a bank holiday falls on a Friday or Monday.

For information about Return Policy, please check here.