Home / Shop / Flute Music / Solos / Flute & Piano (01) / Sonata #18 in G(KV 301/293a)

Sonata #18 in G(KV 301/293a)








SKU: 01I010003821


Sonata No. 18 in G Major, K. 301/293a
Composed by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
for Flute and Piano (Originally for Violin and Piano)
Transcribed and Edited by Stephanie Jutt
Published by International Music Company
Includes score and flute part

Flutists have long treasured the small body of repertoire for flute by W. A. Mozart: the three flute concertos, the Andante for flute and orchestra, and the three quartets for flute and strings. The sheer beauty, intricacy of the phrases, and the exuberant joy that can only be written by Mozart has sustained us, trained us, and made us fall in love with music from the classical period.
As an orchestral flutist, every symphony and concerto is a joy to play. As an opera musician, every Mozart opera is a delight, a challenge and full of the melodies that make a musician’s life sublime.
The early Mozart sonatas for flute or violin and piano, KV 10-15, written when he was just nine years old, represent Mozart’s first works that include flute, and they are lovely, very simple sonatas that will not challenge the more advanced player. On the other hand the group of six sonatas, called the “Mannheim Sonatas,” written circa 1778, K. 301-306, represent Mozart’s first full-scale duo sonatas, with both parts being equally important, and featuring a two-movement form not otherwise encountered in Mozart.
This sonata, K. 301, was written in Mannheim at the beginning of 1778. In 1779, Mozart presented six new sonatas (K. 301-306) to the Palatine Electress Elisabeth Maria in Munich, Germany. It’s interesting to note that the original autograph scoring for the solo part of the first movement is designated “Violino o flauto traverso.” This was consistent with the practice of the day and a practical consideration, but in the second movement, no such designation appears. There are a few spots in the first movement where Mozart wrote an “ossia” part that made the passage playable on the one-keyed flutes of that time, and I’ve incorporated his intentions into this flute edition.
There are numerous Mozart violin and piano sonatas that are suitable for flute. In this transcription, I’ve made a few register changes and have occasionally traded parts with the piano to preserved the flow and shape of the phrases.
These transcriptions expand the flute repertoire and make new sonatas available to flutists who love Mozart. I hope it will bring great joy to players and audiences alike.
Note to the performer: in Mozart’s day, accent markings are meant to be played with a much lighter touch than an accent in the later eras, such as the Romantic or modern era. Stroke markings (carats) were indicated as staccatos and I have changed the original strokes to staccatos. Crescendos and diminuendos were very rarely indicated by Mozart, and are left to the performer’s discretion.
– Stephanie Jutt (August 2019)

Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Shipping & Delivery

Please note: Express & Overnight Shipping deliveries will require a signature. Please ensure someone is available at the delivery address to provide a signature to avoid any issues.

Domestic Shipping
Standard Ground Shipping $7.95
2nd Day Air Shipping (*US only*) $19.95
Overnight Shipping (*US only*) $44.95
International Shipping Puerto Rico and Guam Canada and Mexico International General
USPS Economy $7.95 $29.95 $29.95
USPS Priority Mail International N/A $49.95 $59.95
FEDEX International Economy $29.95 $39.95 $44.95
FEDEX International Priority $39.95 $49.95 $54.95

We can’t offer the expedited delivery services if a bank holiday falls on a Friday or Monday.

For information about Return Policy, please check here.