Home / Shop / Flute Music / Sonata


$18.00 $14.40






SKU: 01P340PDP324


Sonata for Flute and Piano by Louis Lane

Edited by Bruce Gbur

I.   Moderate Tempo

II.  Slowly

III. Fast

This Sonata for Flute and Piano was written in 1946 while Louis Lane (1923-2016) was a Master’s student at the Eastman School of Music.  Lane’s own abilities as a pianist are reflected in the accompaniment while the solo part is idiomatic and displays the flute’s technical and expressive potential.

This edition was prepared from a computer-generated copy of the Sonata held in the collection of the music library at the Cleveland Institute of Music.  I would like the thank Louis Lane for his kind permission to publish the Sonata for Flute and Piano for the first time.  I hope that it will become a welcome addition to the flutists’ repertoire.  —Bruce Gbur, Prairie Dawg Press, July 2014

After winning a nationwide competition, Louis Lane became the Apprentice Conductor to George Szell and The Cleveland Orchestra in 1947. Subsequently he was assistant conductor (1956-1960), associate conductor (1960-1970), and resident conductor (1970-1973) there. He also was co-director of the Blossom Festival School (1969-1973). He served as music director of the Akron (Ohio) Symphony Orchestra (1959-1983) and of the Lake Erie Opera Theatre (1964-1972). In 1973 he became principal guest conductor of the Dallas Symphony Orchestra, and later held various positions with it until 1978. From 1977 to 1983 he was co-conductor of the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra; then was its principal guest conductor (1983-1988). He also was principal guest conductor (1982-1983) and principal conductor (1984-1985) of the National Symphony Orchestra of the South African Broadcasting Corporation in Johannesburg.
After his Canadian debut in 1960 at the Vancouver Festival (with Glenn Gould), Louis Lane appeared as guest conductor with many of the major orchestras of North and South America, Europe and Africa. Under the auspices of the U.S. State Department’s Cultural Exchange Program, he conducted concerts of The Cleveland Orchestra in the Soviet Union and Austria, and appeared with the SODRE Orchestra of Montevideo in Uruguay.
Louis Lane was adjunct professor at the University of Akron (1969-1983) and visiting professor at the University of Cincinnati (1973-1975). He was appointed to the Cleveland Institute of Music Faculty in 1981, and from 1982 was Artistic Advisor and Conductor at the Cleveland Institute of Music. From 1995 to 1998 he was also Director of Orchestral Studies at Oberlin College.
During the quarter century of his association with The Cleveland Orchestra,  Lane became known for his imaginative programming and the wide range of his repertoire. This was recognized by several notable awards, including the Mahler Medal of the Bruckner Society of America in 1971 for his performances of works by Bruckner and Gustav Mahler, and the Alice M. Ditson Prize from Columbia University in 1972 for his numerous performances and recordings of contemporary American music. In 1979 he was named Chevalier de l’Ordre et des Lettres of France by the French Minister of Culture, acknowledging his sympathetic advocacy of French orchestral music.

Shipping & Delivery

Please note: Express & Overnight Shipping deliveries will require a signature. Please ensure someone is available at the delivery address to provide a signature to avoid any issues.

Domestic Shipping
Standard Ground Shipping $7.95
2nd Day Air Shipping (*US only*) $19.95
Overnight Shipping (*US only*) $44.95
International Shipping Puerto Rico and Guam Canada and Mexico International General
USPS Economy $7.95 $29.95 $29.95
USPS Priority Mail International N/A $49.95 $59.95
FEDEX International Economy $29.95 $39.95 $44.95
FEDEX International Priority $39.95 $49.95 $54.95

We can’t offer the expedited delivery services if a bank holiday falls on a Friday or Monday.

For information about Return Policy, please check here.