Home / Shop / Flute Music / Sonata (BWV 1038)

Sonata (BWV 1038)

$18.95 $17.06






SKU: 08F3800FM910


Sonata BWV 1038 by Johann Sebastian Bach

Arranged for Flute Quartet by Robert Rainford

Instrumentation: 2 flutes, alto flute, bass flute

Score and parts

Duration: 5:17

I. Largo

II. Vivace

III. Adagio

IV. Allegro ma non troppo

This sonata comes from the time when Bach was working at the Collegium Musicum in Leipzig.  While there part of his duties was to oversee weekly concerts given by the student music association at a local coffee house.  There, for over ten years, Bach presented mainly chamber music to an educated audience, experimenting to his heart’s content with new instrumental genres.  He was able to push forward his pupils (and of course his own sons) as soloists, who then got the chance to shine.  While there is no record of what was performed at these concerts, this sonata dates from that time period and was probably premiered at one of these concerts.  It alternates slow and fast movements with all of Bach’s contrapuntal flair and expressive melodies.

Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Shipping & Delivery

Please note: Express & Overnight Shipping deliveries will require a signature. Please ensure someone is available at the delivery address to provide a signature to avoid any issues.

Domestic Shipping
Standard Ground Shipping $7.95
2nd Day Air Shipping (*US only*) $19.95
Overnight Shipping (*US only*) $44.95
International Shipping Puerto Rico and Guam Canada and Mexico International General
USPS Economy $7.95 $29.95 $29.95
USPS Priority Mail International N/A $49.95 $59.95
FEDEX International Economy $29.95 $39.95 $44.95
FEDEX International Priority $39.95 $49.95 $54.95

We can’t offer the expedited delivery services if a bank holiday falls on a Friday or Monday.

For information about Return Policy, please check here.