Home / Shop / Flute Music / Solos / Flute & Piano (01) / Sonata for flute and piano

Sonata for flute and piano






SKU: 01A21000FP78


The Sonata was a commission by the Texas Music Teachers Association, written in 2003. In this 20-minute work, the three movements were titled after the notes had been written, and Lias chose titles descriptive of the music: “Wide Blue Run”(a wide intermediate slope in skiing parlance) focusus on form, speed, exhilaration, beauty, and grandeur. “Memory Dance” is a much more introspective and moody journey. The melodic figures seemed dance-like, but without the immediacy of the present. “Kludge March” is best described by the definition of the work “kludge,” which is: A system…that is constituted of poorly matched elements or of elements originally intended for other applications.   While the middle movement is somewhat introspective, the outer movements are full of the joy of music-making. For advanced performers.

Duration: 18:00

Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Shipping & Delivery
Domestic Shipping
Standard Ground Shipping $7.95
2nd Day Air Shipping (*US only*) $19.95
Overnight Shipping (*US only*) $44.95
International Shipping Puerto Rico and Guam Canada and Mexico International General
USPS Economy $7.95 $29.95 $29.95
USPS Priority Mail International N/A $49.95 $59.95
FEDEX International Economy $29.95 $39.95 $44.95
FEDEX International Priority $39.95 $49.95 $54.95

For information about Return Policy, please click here.