Home / Shop / Solos / Flute & Piano (01) / Sonata in A (BWV1032)

Sonata in A (BWV1032)

$22.95 $20.66






SKU: 01B110008583


Sonata in A Major (BWV1032) composed by JS Bach (1685-1750)
Edited for flute and piano
Reconstructed and with a commentary by Barthold Kuijken
Continuo Realization by Siebe Henstra
Published by Breitkopf and Hartel
Includes score and flute part

URTEXT Edition 

The story of the first movement’s origins has all the makings of a whodunnit: during Bach’s lifetime, the score was neatly and systematically severed from a larger sheet (containing the Harpsichord Concerto BWV 1062) after bar 62. But why and by whom? Though a replacement sheet must have existed, it has been irretrievably lost. Thus the missing ca. 46 bars have been reconstructed with varying degrees of accuracy in all previous editions, and sometimes the movement was even entirely omitted. Barthold “Sherlock” Kuijken found traces of the flute part – chiefly slurs but also a few high notes – in the remaining autograph of BWV 1062. He has modeled his version along these clues in an attempt to approximat e Bach’s original form as closely as possible.

Shipping & Delivery

Please note: Express & Overnight Shipping deliveries will require a signature. Please ensure someone is available at the delivery address to provide a signature to avoid any issues.

Standard Ground Shipping $7.95
2nd Day Air Shipping (*USA Only*) $19.95
Overnight Shipping (USA Only*) $44.95
Standard International Shipping $14.95
Express International Shipping $44.95

We can’t offer the expedited delivery services if a bank holiday falls on a Friday or Monday.

For information about Return Policy, please check here.