Home / Shop / Flute Music / Solos / Flute & Piano (01) / Sonata in g (BWV1020)

Sonata in g (BWV1020)

$21.95 $19.75






SKU: 01B110008740


Sonata in g minor (BWV1020/H.542.5) composed by J.S. Bach
Edited and with a commentary by Barthold Kuijken for Flute and Piano
Continuo Realization by Siebe Henstra. 
Includes score and parts

“Bach(?)” is the name of the composer on the cover of the Sonata in G minor for flute (violin) and harpsichord, which has two opus numbers: BWV 1020 and H. 542.5. The two numbers refer to Johann Sebastian and Carl Philipp Emanuel, father and son, but even the family connection must be questioned. This, at least, is what editor Barthold Kuijken believes, which also explains the big question mark. According to Kuijken, the work is “much too thin for the father, untypical of Carl Philipp Emanuel, too good for Quantz – and no other composers suggest themselves.” In addition to the question of authorship, Kuijken knowledgeably takes on all the other problems raised by the sources, and provides expert comments on stylistic matters. The sonata had not been available from Breitkopf until now; this new edition systematically continues Kuijken’s project of revising the Bach flute sonatas. 

Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Shipping & Delivery

Please note: Express & Overnight Shipping deliveries will require a signature. Please ensure someone is available at the delivery address to provide a signature to avoid any issues.

Domestic Shipping
Standard Ground Shipping $7.95
2nd Day Air Shipping (*US only*) $19.95
Overnight Shipping (*US only*) $44.95
International Shipping Puerto Rico and Guam Canada and Mexico International General
USPS Economy $7.95 $29.95 $29.95
USPS Priority Mail International N/A $49.95 $59.95
FEDEX International Economy $29.95 $39.95 $44.95
FEDEX International Priority $39.95 $49.95 $54.95

We can’t offer the expedited delivery services if a bank holiday falls on a Friday or Monday.

For information about Return Policy, please check here.