Home / Shop / Solos / Flute & Piano (01) / Sonata Rubata

Sonata Rubata

$15.00 $13.50





SKU: 01S0800SU511


Sonata Rubata
Composed by Steven Harlos (2002)
For flute and piano
Published by Southern Music Co.

Program Notes:
Sonata Rubata for Flute and Piano was composed over a period of about four years, although the earliest sketches for the second movement actually date back to 1973. The title literally means “stolen sonata”, a reference to the numerous quotes that occur along the way. Some were intentional, some discovered after the fact, but all are a tribute to music and musicians of the past. 

Performance Notes:
I originally composed Sonata Rubata to be played entirely on the C flute. At Mary Karen Clardy's suggestion, we decided to try using alto flute in the second movement, and piccolo at the end of the third movement. Both versions are equally acceptable for performance. 

Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Shipping & Delivery

Please note: Express & Overnight Shipping deliveries will require a signature. Please ensure someone is available at the delivery address to provide a signature to avoid any issues.

Domestic Shipping
Standard Ground Shipping $7.95
2nd Day Air Shipping (*US only*) $19.95
Overnight Shipping (*US only*) $44.95
International Shipping Puerto Rico and Guam Canada and Mexico International General
USPS Economy $7.95 $29.95 $29.95
USPS Priority Mail International N/A $49.95 $59.95
FEDEX International Economy $29.95 $39.95 $44.95
FEDEX International Priority $39.95 $49.95 $54.95

We can’t offer the expedited delivery services if a bank holiday falls on a Friday or Monday.

For information about Return Policy, please check here.