Sonate in A (Hob.XVI:30)







SKU: 14D010GKM235


Sonata in A Major Hob. XVI:30
Composed by Joseph Haydn
For flute and guitar
Arranged by Noemi Gyori and Katalin Koltai
Published by Doblinger
Includes score and flute part

Part of the Classical flute and guitar collection

      The present transcription of the A major Sonata by Joseph Haydn is the third to follow Mozart's d minor Fantasy and Haydn's Hob. XVI:37 D major Sonata in the 'Classical flute and guitar collection.' The selection series aims to widen the flute and guitar repertoire with true chamber music treasures by adding the first time translations of keyboard works by Viennese classical composers to the current scope. Our editions attempt to remain true to the original text, while adapting the musical intentions of the composers to our instruments in a way that highlights the articulate and elaborate expressiveness of both the flute, the guitar and their ensemble. Joseph Haydn's piano sonata oeuvre consists of more than 60 works, encompassing real musical jewels; finally receiving its deserved appreciation by performers and taking its rightful place on the international concert platform. The present A major Sonata was published in 1776; its compositional form is immediately noteworthy: in many ways it resembles the experimental divertimenti from around the time of 1765, and is the first and only fully linked cycle in Haydn's oeuvre. The opening Allegro movement is characterized by its subtle texture and vivacious figures, a movement brightly composed in the Classical sonata form. The flute cadenza starting in bar 96, written especially for this edition, invokes the spirit of playful improvisations commonplace in the salons of 18th century Vienna. The end of the movement leads into a breath-taking, lucid recitative, a truly lyrical movement, that can be traced back to Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach. This short intermezzo is continued by the witty last section, the Tempo di Minuetto, a finale of theme and six variations. These last two movements of the sonata correspond vigorously to the original flute and guitar compositions of the time, while Haydn's clever little details and substantive compositional ideas challenge the players to use their versatile palette of articulation, virtuosity, colours and humour bringing to life the bright and lively dynamism so particular to Haydn's masterful compositions. The A major sonata is a true musical gem from the 18th century that highlights the virtues of the flute and the guitar duo, creating a lively, spirited dialogue between the two players.
– Noemi Gyori

Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Shipping & Delivery

Please note: Express & Overnight Shipping deliveries will require a signature. Please ensure someone is available at the delivery address to provide a signature to avoid any issues.

Domestic Shipping
Standard Ground Shipping $7.95
2nd Day Air Shipping (*US only*) $19.95
Overnight Shipping (*US only*) $44.95
International Shipping Puerto Rico and Guam Canada and Mexico International General
USPS Economy $7.95 $29.95 $29.95
USPS Priority Mail International N/A $49.95 $59.95
FEDEX International Economy $29.95 $39.95 $44.95
FEDEX International Priority $39.95 $49.95 $54.95

We can’t offer the expedited delivery services if a bank holiday falls on a Friday or Monday.

For information about Return Policy, please check here.