Sonate Op21






SKU: 01A6902145AN


Sonata, Opus 21
Composed by Armand Lonque
for Flute and Piano
Published by Edition Andel
Includes score and flute part

I.   (Allegro Moderato)
II.  Improvisatie – Improvisation (Adagio)
III. Rondo (Giocoso)

Armand Lonque came from a musical family, with both a father and a older brother being composers and professional musicians. His studies at the Royal Conservatory of Ghent led to a varied teaching career throughout much of central Flanders. His compositions range from solo pieces for piano, a variety of choral works, and repertoire pieces for most instruments. This sonata for flute and piano is dedicated to Francis Stoefs (flute professor at the Royal Conservatory of Brussels) and was awarded the Emile Mathieu prize for composition in 1939.

The Sonata for Flute and Piano itself is an attractive work, pairing a sense of lush Faure with a stranger impressionism. A thick, gorgeously expressive first movement (with a melody that touches on Gieseking) gives way to a delicate middle movement with a quietly evolving piano ostinato underneath the unsettlingly beautiful flute. The playful, meaty finale full of sly lines brings the Sonata to a virtuosic close.

Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Shipping & Delivery

Please note: Express & Overnight Shipping deliveries will require a signature. Please ensure someone is available at the delivery address to provide a signature to avoid any issues.

Domestic Shipping
Standard Ground Shipping $7.95
2nd Day Air Shipping (*US only*) $19.95
Overnight Shipping (*US only*) $44.95
International Shipping Puerto Rico and Guam Canada and Mexico International General
USPS Economy $7.95 $29.95 $29.95
USPS Priority Mail International N/A $49.95 $59.95
FEDEX International Economy $29.95 $39.95 $44.95
FEDEX International Priority $39.95 $49.95 $54.95

We can’t offer the expedited delivery services if a bank holiday falls on a Friday or Monday.

For information about Return Policy, please check here.