SKU: 01F3800FM828


Composed by David Baker
for Flute and Piano
Published by Forton Music
Includes score and flute part

Written in 2014 for Jo Lewis, this Sonatina for flute and piano comprises of two contrasting sections, both exploring the duality of 6/8, 3/4 and both juxtaposing seemingly innocent musical ideas with more sinister writing. To begin, the main thematic material is simply introduced by the piano; the flute appearing from the texture to take the melodic line as the harmonic language becomes darker. This dialogue emerges into a bright A major interlude before we return briefly to the sombre opening material. A short transition pushes the music forward into the dance like second section. Here the rhythmic piano textures drive the music on in a light pastiche of Irish folk music. Resplendent with Casadh decoration in the flute and Bodhran drum rhythms in the left hand of the piano, this lively dance is occasionally menaced by darker references to the first section. Major tonality wins the day however for a light but triumphant codetta!

Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Shipping & Delivery

Please note: Express & Overnight Shipping deliveries will require a signature. Please ensure someone is available at the delivery address to provide a signature to avoid any issues.

Domestic Shipping
Standard Ground Shipping $7.95
2nd Day Air Shipping (*US only*) $19.95
Overnight Shipping (*US only*) $44.95
International Shipping Puerto Rico and Guam Canada and Mexico International General
USPS Economy $7.95 $29.95 $29.95
USPS Priority Mail International N/A $49.95 $59.95
FEDEX International Economy $29.95 $39.95 $44.95
FEDEX International Priority $39.95 $49.95 $54.95

We can’t offer the expedited delivery services if a bank holiday falls on a Friday or Monday.

For information about Return Policy, please check here.