Home / Shop / Solos / Unaccompanied Flute (03) / Call Fowarding

Call Fowarding

$9.95 $8.95





SKU: 03L1400FA004


Call Forwarding
Composed by Ricky Lombardo
for Flute Alone
Published by Lombardo Music Publications
Total duration: 3'30″

Exchange (Based on the Numbers 5-8-6)
Jazz Talk (Based on the Numbers 9-2-4-5)

Performance Notes:
       “Call Forwarding” is an original composition written for flute alone. This work was actually composed 20 years or so prior to being published. I was asked to perform on a concert when traveling to Colorado Springs, Colorado as a guest composer for a flute choir festival. At the time, I was not working on anything specific or ready to perform. Also, I did not know if there would be an accompanist. My thought was to compose something new that had never been previously heard. If my performance was less than perfect or I played a wrong note, no one would know the difference since the composition was completely new. This solo was the result and performed at the concert!
        The work is based on the main phone numbers for Lombardo Music Publications minus the area code. Each was written with thoughts of the phone number digits in mind using them as intervals. There are several tempo changes throughout both movements. Of course, there is much more to each movement but the basic premise is the same. Each one is very different musically! The first movement titled “Exchange” is based on the intervals of 5th-8th-6th to correspond to the actual digits. This has more of a 20th century classical sound. The second movement I called “Jazz Talk” follows a similar concept. This section uses the intervals of 9th-2nd-4th and 5th, which correspond to the last four digits of the phone number. It is somewhat technically easier but may be more difficult to obtain the proper jazz feel. The soloist can take a great deal of liberty with the dynamics, accelerando and ritard markings as well as altering tempos. There are several opportunities to be very flexible for a performance. This composition is ideal for those performing a concert when something short, appealing and a little challenging is needed. Your audience may even appreciate hearing the story behind the composition. Enjoy! 
– Ricky Lombardo

Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Shipping & Delivery

Please note: Express & Overnight Shipping deliveries will require a signature. Please ensure someone is available at the delivery address to provide a signature to avoid any issues.

Domestic Shipping
Standard Ground Shipping $7.95
2nd Day Air Shipping (*US only*) $19.95
Overnight Shipping (*US only*) $44.95
International Shipping Puerto Rico and Guam Canada and Mexico International General
USPS Economy $7.95 $29.95 $29.95
USPS Priority Mail International N/A $49.95 $59.95
FEDEX International Economy $29.95 $39.95 $44.95
FEDEX International Priority $39.95 $49.95 $54.95

We can’t offer the expedited delivery services if a bank holiday falls on a Friday or Monday.

For information about Return Policy, please check here.