Echoes of Narcissus






SKU: 38F210000004


Echoes of Narcissus by Melvin Lauf, Jr.
For 2 Piccolos and Piano
Includes score and parts
Duration: 7:00

Echoes of Narcissus is based on the story in Greek mythology of Narcissus. Narcissus meaning “sleep, numbness,” was a hunter who was renowned for his beauty. He fell in love with his own reflection in a pool, not realizing it was merely an image, and he wasted away to death, not being able to leave the beauty of his own reflection. He pined away and was changed into the flower that bears his name.

The piece starts off wtih the piccolos bouncing their reflections back and forth, while the piano lays down a calm watery reflective surface. The piccolos are quickly mesmerized by the image on the other side.

While being transfixed, a fight or struggle for Narcissus takes place. Does he tear himself away from the beauty that he doth see? Or does he walk away and rejoin the world? He simply cannot move. Eventually, the years move on, and he wastes away and is then transformed into a flower.


Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Shipping & Delivery

Please note: Express & Overnight Shipping deliveries will require a signature. Please ensure someone is available at the delivery address to provide a signature to avoid any issues.

Domestic Shipping
Standard Ground Shipping $7.95
2nd Day Air Shipping (*US only*) $19.95
Overnight Shipping (*US only*) $44.95
International Shipping Puerto Rico and Guam Canada and Mexico International General
USPS Economy $7.95 $29.95 $29.95
USPS Priority Mail International N/A $49.95 $59.95
FEDEX International Economy $29.95 $39.95 $44.95
FEDEX International Priority $39.95 $49.95 $54.95

We can’t offer the expedited delivery services if a bank holiday falls on a Friday or Monday.

For information about Return Policy, please check here.