Enigma Variations #9 Nimrod

$25.00 $22.50






SKU: 31E19WWE16117


Enigma Variation No. 9
Composed by Edward Elgar (1857-1934)
Arranged by David Marlatt for Interchangeable 5-Part Woodwind Ensemble
Published by Eighth Note Publications
Includes score and parts
Duration: 2:50

Flute, oboe, or clarinet
Flute, oboe, or clarinet
Clarinet, alto saxophone, or horn
Clarinet or tenor saxophone
Bass clarinet, bassoon, or baritone saxophone

       Enigma Variations is a set of variations on an original theme about which Elgar said represented “the loneliness of the creative artist”. Each variation has a title which contained initials or nicknames of his friends. The music was to describe “friends pictured within”.
       The ninth variation, Nimrod, refers to A.J. Jaeger, a member of the staff at Novello Publishing Company who had several of Elgar's works published. This variation refers to a discussion the two friends had one summer evening concerning Beethoven's slow movements. Elgar makes no arguments about the opening of Nimrod alluding to the slow movement of the Pathetique Sonata

Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Shipping & Delivery

Please note: Express & Overnight Shipping deliveries will require a signature. Please ensure someone is available at the delivery address to provide a signature to avoid any issues.

Domestic Shipping
Standard Ground Shipping $7.95
2nd Day Air Shipping (*US only*) $19.95
Overnight Shipping (*US only*) $44.95
International Shipping Puerto Rico and Guam Canada and Mexico International General
USPS Economy $7.95 $29.95 $29.95
USPS Priority Mail International N/A $49.95 $59.95
FEDEX International Economy $29.95 $39.95 $44.95
FEDEX International Priority $39.95 $49.95 $54.95

We can’t offer the expedited delivery services if a bank holiday falls on a Friday or Monday.

For information about Return Policy, please check here.