Raga Sept 'Single'






SKU: 08C440069067


Raga Sept 'Single'
Composed by Derek Charke
for Flute Quartet
Published by Canadian Music Centre
Includes score and parts

2 Flutes
1 Alto Flute
1 Bass Flute

      Raga Sept is not based on an authentic Raga, but rather attempts to emulate the sound world through the use of various extended flute techniques. Raga Sept is in 7/8 time. Many sounds are created with a technique whereby the flutist must enunciate the word 'cha' to produce the desired 'toneless' and rough sounding effect. Most of my works in this Raga Series use Hindi numbers to designate the time signature. 'Saat' is the English translation of the number seven in Hindi. However, that name was used for another Raga quartet. Instead, this work uses the French 'Sept'. There are two versions of Raga Sept: (1) Single, for flute quartet (2 C flutes, Alto, and Bass), and (2) Double, for two quartets (4 C Flutes, 2 Alto, 2 Bass).

      A triangle note-head indicates a “toneless” attack. Blow across the tone-hole (not into the tone-hole as you normally would) while producing a harsh “CHA” sound.
      A square note-head indicates a note to be sung.

Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Shipping & Delivery
Domestic Shipping
Standard Ground Shipping $7.95
2nd Day Air Shipping (*US only*) $19.95
Overnight Shipping (*US only*) $44.95
International Shipping Puerto Rico and Guam Canada and Mexico International General
USPS Economy $7.95 $29.95 $29.95
USPS Priority Mail International N/A $49.95 $59.95
FEDEX International Economy $29.95 $39.95 $44.95
FEDEX International Priority $39.95 $49.95 $54.95

For information about Return Policy, please click here.