Simple Symphony Op4

$27.95 $25.16

flute choir: piccolo, 2 flutes, alto flute, bass flute






SKU: 10F3800FM150


Simple Symphony
Composed by Benjamin Britten (1913 – 1976)
For flute choir/quintet
Arranged by Robert Rainford
Published by Forton Music
Includes score and parts

Instrumentation: Piccolo, 2 C Flutes, Alto Flute and Bass Flute

I.   Boisterous Bouree
II.  Playful Pizzicato
III. Sentimental Saraband
IV.  Frolicsome Finale

This is the first appearance of the whole work as a flute choir arrangement. In four movements, Boisterous Bouree, Playful Pizzicato, Sentimental Sarabande and Frolicsome Finale. Written in an accessible style, with modern twists to the timing and harmonies, this pieces is a fantastic addition to the flute ensemble repertoire. The first movement alternates between a running contrapuntal theme, and a more lyrical/harmonic second subject. Alternating between D minor and D major and reaching a thrilling climax before disappearing into nothing. The second movement is even faster (Presto possible), with neat fingering and tonguing required for the arpeggiated theme. The third movement is slow and seriuos, and is in G minor. A lovely mournful lyrical theme soars over modern sounding chords and harmonies. the finale is again fast (Prestissimo con fuoco), and requires some extremely fast tonguing in all parts (easier ossias are included). A fantastic opportunity for flautists to try something new!

Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Shipping & Delivery

Please note: Express & Overnight Shipping deliveries will require a signature. Please ensure someone is available at the delivery address to provide a signature to avoid any issues.

Domestic Shipping
Standard Ground Shipping $7.95
2nd Day Air Shipping (*US only*) $19.95
Overnight Shipping (*US only*) $44.95
International Shipping Puerto Rico and Guam Canada and Mexico International General
USPS Economy $7.95 $29.95 $29.95
USPS Priority Mail International N/A $49.95 $59.95
FEDEX International Economy $29.95 $39.95 $44.95
FEDEX International Priority $39.95 $49.95 $54.95

We can’t offer the expedited delivery services if a bank holiday falls on a Friday or Monday.

For information about Return Policy, please check here.