Swedish Dances (v.1)







SKU: 05F3800FM393


Swedish Dances (Volume 1)

by Max Bruch

Arranged by Robert Rainford

for two flute and piano

score and parts

These dances were first published in 1892 for violin and piano, although Bruch later arranged them for solo piano, and also for orcehstra.  The slow, stately introduction leads in to seven dances in volume one, each a charming character study.  Individual movements are dramatic, then tranquil; dance-like then reflective.  The third, fifth and seventh movements have the feeling of folk-dances, while the others are more lyrical and expressive.  Structurally the pieces are faily simple, with melody sections flowing in to each other.  Some ideas are developed into links and codas.

In this arrangement, both players share the melodic material fairly evenly.  Each has a solo movement to play, with the other movements featuring call and answer moments, harmony sections and contrapuntal elements to enjoy.  Technically quite advanced, with the first flute covering the whole range of the instrument, these gems of pieces are well worth working on.

Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Shipping & Delivery

Please note: Express & Overnight Shipping deliveries will require a signature. Please ensure someone is available at the delivery address to provide a signature to avoid any issues.

Domestic Shipping
Standard Ground Shipping $7.95
2nd Day Air Shipping (*US only*) $19.95
Overnight Shipping (*US only*) $44.95
International Shipping Puerto Rico and Guam Canada and Mexico International General
USPS Economy $7.95 $29.95 $29.95
USPS Priority Mail International N/A $49.95 $59.95
FEDEX International Economy $29.95 $39.95 $44.95
FEDEX International Priority $39.95 $49.95 $54.95

We can’t offer the expedited delivery services if a bank holiday falls on a Friday or Monday.

For information about Return Policy, please check here.