Home / Shop / Flute Music / Triosonate in b minor Op2#1 (HWV 386b)

Triosonate in b minor Op2#1 (HWV 386b)

$21.95 $19.76






SKU: 25A020BP1901


Triosonate in b Minor, Op2 #1 (HWV 386b) for Flute, Violin and Basso Continuo by G.F. Handel

Edited by Harry Joelson

Piano score and parts

Andante; Adagio; Allegro ma non troppo; Largo

Handel had composed the first Sonata in c minor, a key uncomfortable for the traverse flute.  Walsh simply transposed it to b minor.  The parts of this sonata and of the fourth sonata in F major are explicitly for flute and violin, respectively.  The part of the other sonatas are labelled Violino Primo or Violino Secondo.  The sonatas 1 and 3-5 can be played by various instruments.  The original c minor version of the first sonata and the fourth sonata are especially suitable to the treble recorder.

Five editions of the sonatas were printed during Handel’s lifetime.  The last one was published in Paris by LeClerc, who also provided a better text with rich ornamentation.  Our edition is based upon the Walsh editions, but for dubious passages we have adopted LeClerc’s readings.  Walsh left ornamentation mostly to the performer:  we have provided the ornaments of the LeClerc edition as an example of contemporary performance practice.  We have also consulted numerous contemporary manuscripts, which, however, often were copied from printed editions.  No autographs have survived.  The figuration of the bass follows the Walsh edition, but the realization takes the more opulent proposals of the LeClerc edition into consideration.

Shipping & Delivery

Please note: Express & Overnight Shipping deliveries will require a signature. Please ensure someone is available at the delivery address to provide a signature to avoid any issues.

Domestic Shipping
Standard Ground Shipping $7.95
2nd Day Air Shipping (*US only*) $19.95
Overnight Shipping (*US only*) $44.95
International Shipping Puerto Rico and Guam Canada and Mexico International General
USPS Economy $7.95 $29.95 $29.95
USPS Priority Mail International N/A $49.95 $59.95
FEDEX International Economy $29.95 $39.95 $44.95
FEDEX International Priority $39.95 $49.95 $54.95

We can’t offer the expedited delivery services if a bank holiday falls on a Friday or Monday.

For information about Return Policy, please check here.