Coriolan Overture Op62


Woodwind Quintet





SKU: 33B010008601


Coriolan-Overtüre Op. 62 für Holzbläserquintett
Coriolan Overture Op. 62 for Woodwind Quintet
Composed by Ludwig van Beethoven
Arranged by Joachim Linckelmann
Published by Barenreiter
Includes score and parts

Flute, Oboe, Clarinet in Bb, Horn in F, and Bassoon

      Ludwig van Beethoven composed his Coriolan Overture in 1807 after a tragedy of that title by Josef Heinrich von Collin. The Roman general Coriolanus feels humiliated by his native city. Deeply damaged in his self-esteem, he takes up sides with the Volsci, who are threatening Rome. His mother and his former teachers try to win him back to their side. In Collin's play, the resultant struggle between patriotism and pride lasts for five acts until Coriolanus is finally allowed to fall on his sword. Beethoven distills these five acts into some ten minutes of music, depicting the hero's mental disintegration with great sympathy. 
      Thanks to their many shades, hues, instrumental combinations and wide dynamic range, the five instruments of the woodwind quintet lend perfect expression to this idea within the confines of a small ensemble.
— Joachim Linckelmann 
(Translated by J. Bradford Robinson)

Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Shipping & Delivery

Please note: Express & Overnight Shipping deliveries will require a signature. Please ensure someone is available at the delivery address to provide a signature to avoid any issues.

Domestic Shipping
Standard Ground Shipping $7.95
2nd Day Air Shipping (*US only*) $19.95
Overnight Shipping (*US only*) $44.95
International Shipping Puerto Rico and Guam Canada and Mexico International General
USPS Economy $7.95 $29.95 $29.95
USPS Priority Mail International N/A $49.95 $59.95
FEDEX International Economy $29.95 $39.95 $44.95
FEDEX International Priority $39.95 $49.95 $54.95

We can’t offer the expedited delivery services if a bank holiday falls on a Friday or Monday.

For information about Return Policy, please check here.