Raga Saat






SKU: 08P050041682


Raga Saat by Derek Charke
For 4 C Flutes
Includes score and parts
Duration: about 9:30

Raga Saat is a companion work to Raga Cha. Similarly, Raga Saat is not based on an authentic Raga, but rather attempts to emulate the sound world through the use of various extended flute techniques. It is repetitive and meditative  in character. Raga Saat is in 7/8 time. Saat is the English translation of the number seven in Hindi. Raga Saat plays with several polyrhythmic patterns that define the rhythmic flavor of the piece. 

Raga Saat, the second in a series of flute ensemble works by Canadian composer-flutist Derek Charke, creates a uniquely mesmerizing soundworld. Using post-minimal ostinatos in 7 (saat = seven) with criss-crossing syncopations, Raga Saat explores percussive and unfamiliar textures from beatboxing and other expanded techniques to create a dazzling sound environment.

Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Shipping & Delivery

Please note: Express & Overnight Shipping deliveries will require a signature. Please ensure someone is available at the delivery address to provide a signature to avoid any issues.

Domestic Shipping
Standard Ground Shipping $7.95
2nd Day Air Shipping (*US only*) $19.95
Overnight Shipping (*US only*) $44.95
International Shipping Puerto Rico and Guam Canada and Mexico International General
USPS Economy $7.95 $29.95 $29.95
USPS Priority Mail International N/A $49.95 $59.95
FEDEX International Economy $29.95 $39.95 $44.95
FEDEX International Priority $39.95 $49.95 $54.95

We can’t offer the expedited delivery services if a bank holiday falls on a Friday or Monday.

For information about Return Policy, please check here.