Home / Shop / Flute Music / Silhouetten, Schatten, Vision

Silhouetten, Schatten, Vision

$32.95 $29.66





SKU: 18F270010145


Silhouetten, Schatten, Vision (Silhouettes, Shadows, Vision) by Diana Cemeryte

Instrumentation: flute (switching to piccolo, alto flute), percussion (vibraphone, hand drum, tamtam, gongs, cymbals, spoken voice, wood blocks), piano

Duration: 13:00

Piano score and parts

I. Silhouette (flute, vibraphone, hand drum, piano

II. Schatten (alto flute/flute/piccolo, vibraphone

III. Silhouetten (piano)

IV. Vision (flute, tamtam, gongs, piano)

V. Schatten (alto flute, spoken voice, hand drum, cymbals, wood blocks)

This composition was been written for the concert series ZWEI (two) of the Frankfurt Society for Contemporary Music in cooperation with the Haus am Dom (Frankfurt/Main) and was first performed on 6 July 2011 by the trio Interface.  Memories, experiences and moods were the fundamental idea for the composition of the five short character pieces.  However, it does not suggest any specific title, or reflect particular memory or vision.  The progression of the cycle is dramaturgically separated in silhouettes, shadows and a vision.  Through the flowing, moving and repetitive music lines these silhouettes (1st and 3rd movements) hint a concrete, experienced memory.  The two fragile and pensive shadows (2nd and 5th movements) on the other hand illustrate a mere short impulse, a moment of pure thought.  The fourth, and thus the central movement of the composition is the vision, that describes a look back into the past, of something dreamed, imaginary or perhaps truly experienced.

Lithuanian composer Diana Cemeryte was born in 1974 and made her first attempts at composition at the age of nine.  After studying Composition and the theory of Music and the Conservatory in Vilnius she studied Composition under Osvaldas Balakauskas at the Lithuanian Academy of Music from 1994 to 2000.  From 2003 to 2006 she extended her training by studying Musicology at the Johann Wolfgang Goethe University in Frankfurt am Main.

Cemeryte has been commissioned to compose a number of pieces and is a regular guest at festivals and concerts of contemporary music in Lithuania and other parts of Europe.  Her work includes chamber music, with string quartets, choral music, orchestral works and two operas for children.  Diana Cemeryte is currently living in Frankfurt am Main as a free-lance composer and was awarded the scholarship of the Frankfurt Mozart Foundation for 2004-2005.


Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Shipping & Delivery

Please note: Express & Overnight Shipping deliveries will require a signature. Please ensure someone is available at the delivery address to provide a signature to avoid any issues.

Domestic Shipping
Standard Ground Shipping $7.95
2nd Day Air Shipping (*US only*) $19.95
Overnight Shipping (*US only*) $44.95
International Shipping Puerto Rico and Guam Canada and Mexico International General
USPS Economy $7.95 $29.95 $29.95
USPS Priority Mail International N/A $49.95 $59.95
FEDEX International Economy $29.95 $39.95 $44.95
FEDEX International Priority $39.95 $49.95 $54.95

We can’t offer the expedited delivery services if a bank holiday falls on a Friday or Monday.

For information about Return Policy, please check here.