Summer Music







SKU: 10F3800FM615


Summer Music by Richard Rodney Bennett
Arranged for solo flute and flute ensemble by Robert Rainford
Published by Forton Music
Includes score and parts

Solo Flute
4 C Flutes
Alto Flute
Bass Flute
Contr'alto Flute (optional)
Contrabass Flute (optional)

Richard Rodney Bennett wrote that he composed this piece as a way of bridging the gap between starting to learn an instrument and ‘real’ music. It is in three movements with the feeling of a sonata, but each movement has it’s own contrasting mood and style. The first movement uses two themes, one scalic and one based on arpeggio patterns to create a fluid and flowing feel. The second movement, titled ‘Siesta’ is lazy and languid rising to an impassioned climax in the middle of the movement, before dying away again. The final movement, called ‘Games’, is a riotous game of tag between the instruments in the ensemble and the soloist. The themes from the first two movements are heard again interspersed by the chasing motifs, before all the instruments join forces to rush headlong to a breathless and triumphant conclusion!

Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Shipping & Delivery

Please note: Express & Overnight Shipping deliveries will require a signature. Please ensure someone is available at the delivery address to provide a signature to avoid any issues.

Domestic Shipping
Standard Ground Shipping $7.95
2nd Day Air Shipping (*US only*) $19.95
Overnight Shipping (*US only*) $44.95
International Shipping Puerto Rico and Guam Canada and Mexico International General
USPS Economy $7.95 $29.95 $29.95
USPS Priority Mail International N/A $49.95 $59.95
FEDEX International Economy $29.95 $39.95 $44.95
FEDEX International Priority $39.95 $49.95 $54.95

We can’t offer the expedited delivery services if a bank holiday falls on a Friday or Monday.

For information about Return Policy, please check here.