Home / Shop / Flute Music / Solos / Unaccompanied Flute (03) / Three Sonatas (from BWV 1001-1006)

Three Sonatas (from BWV 1001-1006)






SKU: 03B110006520


Three Sonatas (from BWV 1001-1006)
Composer: Bach, JS
Publisher: Breitkopf and Hartel
Instrumentation: Flute

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) -after the Sonatas and Partitas for Violin BWV 1001-1006
Transcribed by Peter-Lukas Graf

This collection of sonatas for solo flute is derived from Bach's sonatas and partitas for solo violin.  The movements have been selected with a view toward their adaptability for transcription, in combinations determined by key relationships.  Bach's Sonata in A minor, originally written for flute, has served as a general model.  In most of the movements, transcription was limited to a position change suitable for the flute.  However, in the Minuet in G major, the Largo of the Sonata in G minor, and the Sarabande in D minor, an attempt has been made to recapture the polyphony of the violin original through appropriate voice-leading in homophonic flute phrasing.  The same applies to certain places in the Gavotte in G major and the Bouree (Tempo di Borea) in D minor.

Bach's phrasing has been occasionally changed in accordance with the requirements of the flute.  Passages which present breathing difficulties have been marked to facilitate performance.  Otherwise, additional editorial marks have been kept at a minimum.  The suggested metronome indications are to be used as guidelines only, for practical study.  In order to facilitate comparison, the original violin part has been added to the part transcribed for flute.  The violin part differs from Bach's autograph only in small notational changes now generally used: unnecessary repeated accidentals in the same bar have been omitted, and missing accidentals added in parentheses; in the key of G minor, the signature has been added at the beginning of each line; in polyphonic passages, stems have beamed together and a few inconsequential rests have been omitted.


Sonata I in G-major
Allegro assai (from Violin Sonata III in C major BWV 1005)
Gavotte en Rondeau (from Violin Partita III in E major BWV 1006)
Menuet (from BWV 1006)
Bourree (from BWV 1006)
Gigue (from BWV 1006)

Sonata II in g-minor
Allemande (from Violin Partita II in d minor BWV 1004)
Corrente (from BWV 1004)
Largo (from Violin Sonata III in C major BWV 1005)
Giga (from BWV 1004)

Sonata III in d-minor
Allegro (from Violin Sonata II in a BWV 1003)
Sarabande(Vln Partita I in b BWV 1002)
Tempo de Borea (BWV 1002)
Presto (Vln Sta I in g BWV 1001)

Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Shipping & Delivery
Domestic Shipping
Standard Ground Shipping $7.95
2nd Day Air Shipping (*US only*) $19.95
Overnight Shipping (*US only*) $44.95
International Shipping Puerto Rico and Guam Canada and Mexico International General
USPS Economy $7.95 $29.95 $29.95
USPS Priority Mail International N/A $49.95 $59.95
FEDEX International Economy $29.95 $39.95 $44.95
FEDEX International Priority $39.95 $49.95 $54.95

For information about Return Policy, please click here.