Vergnugungszug Op281







SKU: 38B060009008


Vergnugungszug, Polka Schnell, Op281 by Johann Strauss
Originally written for orchestra
Arranged for 2 piccolos and piano by Bernard Boetto
Includes parts for each piccolo and a piano score
Duration: 3:00

This piece is a Schnell-Polka, which was influenced by the galop, a rapid simple dance in 2/4 meter.  The title, loosely translated as “Pleasure Train,” indicates that galops, and the polkas related to them, were danced by couples in a line or “train” that moved across or around the hall.  Originally for orchestra, it was published in 1864, and it is influenced by the polka as coming from Bohemia, in that a couple of its melodies accent the second beat of the measure.  Strauss' leaping melodies illustrate the reckless abandon with which the Schnell-Polka was commonly danced, with reflections of the polka's military associations found in the beginning passage. 

Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Shipping & Delivery

Please note: Express & Overnight Shipping deliveries will require a signature. Please ensure someone is available at the delivery address to provide a signature to avoid any issues.

Domestic Shipping
Standard Ground Shipping $7.95
2nd Day Air Shipping (*US only*) $19.95
Overnight Shipping (*US only*) $44.95
International Shipping Puerto Rico and Guam Canada and Mexico International General
USPS Economy $7.95 $29.95 $29.95
USPS Priority Mail International N/A $49.95 $59.95
FEDEX International Economy $29.95 $39.95 $44.95
FEDEX International Priority $39.95 $49.95 $54.95

We can’t offer the expedited delivery services if a bank holiday falls on a Friday or Monday.

For information about Return Policy, please check here.